Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

So what do we inhouse programmers do?

Lets help Joel out here.  I'm an inhouse programmer, and this is what I do...

1)  Patch up code that was written in the 80s.  Eventually, when the code finally dies we get to rewrite it from scratch.

2)  Somebody in acconts will write a spreadsheet in Excel and use it for quotes.  Then he'll leave.  When it stops working, we have to try and fix it.  Sometimes we have to convert it into a proper app.

Since this takes us weeks, and the original guy threw it together in his spare time, he is considered to be a far superior programmer.

3)  Add desktop frount ends to mainframe apps.  This used to be done in VB.  Now we use ASP.

Ged Byrne
Thursday, February 14, 2002

Slashdot First!

Just kidding!!!

1. Hmm ... what kind of code? I'm guessing some kind of proprietary db? How does the code die? Can you write a small middleware layer stub that'll let you perform a partial rewrite/refactor? How much of the app do you rewrite from scratch?

2. Complain about how not disseminating such information is a indicative of risky behavior and against the corporate goals. This is just corporate level ignorance. Why don't you write a spreadsheet in your spare time and then leave? ;-P

3. Nothing wrong with wrapping a stable code base! (I'm assuming it's stable and it's not the code you're referring to in #1)

Ok, I'm not being terribly helpful here - could you elaborate on specifics (without compromising your job)?

James Wann

Unfortunately the problem is all down to the way that IT is funded.  Development projects are funded separately until they are accepted.  They then disappear into the production, which has one not so big pot of money for maintenance. 

Not enough money to fix anything properly, but when something breaks we have to get it back up and running as quickly and cheaply as possible.

When this finally becomes impossible, the company is desparate enough to pay for a new system.