Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Salary Increase Negotiations...

Ok, so I was discussing with a coworker the issues that I have with my job (he has 10+ years experience, I have 2 years exp.):

#1) I'm thrown on X number of projects and always getting moved to a different/new project/tasks, etc. before being allowed to finish any one of them (I'm a software dev for a consulting firm.) Example:  Today instead of working on an internal project, I get sent to a client's office to fix a scanner/pc that's running on Win95.  How this relates to my job, I don't know. 

#2) Salary.  Last year I got a pity raise. "XYZ, you're on the low end of the pay scale for developers, so here's a 6.5% increase ($2000)" I'm making pretty measly $ and I'm the only programmer who knows anything about the dev platform the company has decided to stake it's future on (.NET) and move away from Lotus Domino (Which I also have experience in.)

So the boss caught wind of this conversation, calls me to apologize about "throwing me all over the place" and schedules a lunch meeting with me to discuss with me some sort of incentive plan.  Basically he's going to try to tie this raise to me getting MCSD.NET certified, which will take me a good year to achieve with plenty of outside-of-work-hours studying. 

I like my boss, so I prefer not to go for the ultimatum route ("Give me a raise or I quit").  So what have you folks done to successfully get a raise without switching employers?  Advice? 

(And please, no "You should be happy to have a job", I know I *should be happy* but I'm making at least $20k less than the other developers at this company.)

Anonymous Programmer
Thursday, March 27, 2003

What's wrong with tying the raise to getting certified? Much as I hate it, you have to look at it from his point of view - it's much, much easier for him to tell anyone else who asks why you got a raise.

BTW, make him buy you Transcenders and pay for the exams. :)