Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

WinCE beats VxWorks in revenue

http://www.embedded.com/story/OEG20030321S0033

With the handheld market growing, MSFT's revenue numbers exceed VxWorks.  Nothing revolutionary, but certainly a data point on the history timeline.

Nat Ersoz
Sunday, March 23, 2003

XP Embedded is the new Big Guy in town if you aren't after a small footprint.  Near as I can tell from our own customer feedback is the adoption rate on this thing is amazing.

Why?  Because the masses already have the development tools and already know the Win32 API in their sleep.

Over time, VxWorks, Wind River, and QNX are probably going to get hosed.

Mitch & Murray (from downtown)
Sunday, March 23, 2003

Being an embedded programmer, I HIGHLY disagree with that statement.  XP Embedded targets an entirely different market than VxWorks, WinCE, or QNX.

XP Embedded is for lightweight PC's, like set-top boxes, thin clients, kiosks, etc.  The biggest selling point for XP Embedded is its compatibility with desktop Windows.  XP embedded does NOT provide any sort of enhanced reliability or deterministic real-time capabilities.  It doesn't support any non-x86 architectures.  You won't find XP Embedded in an avionics system, satellite, or submarine.

VxWorks, WinCE, and QNX are hardened real-time OSes.  They're made for truly embedded systems.  Most RTOSes have no GUI (or it's optional).  They usually don't have any separation between user mode and kernel mode.  Real-Time operating systems are expected to be quick-booting and respond to interrupts instantly.  CPU overhead is minimized.  Also, most RTOSes support a wide range of architectures (PowerPC, XScale, ColdFire, etc).

I will agree that WinCE is an up-and-comming player in the embedded market.  I have more and more customers asking about it (Linux too).  The embedded world is a huge growth market for Microsoft.  98% of all processors sold last year went into embedded systems.