Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Advantages to MFC

I'm new to Windows programming (mainly use Perl and some Java, have edited existing VB code) and was wondering what the advantages and disadvantages to the MFC are vs. the Win32 API.

Alai
Friday, March 21, 2003

MFC is a C++ wrapper, among other things, around the Win32 API.  It builds a framework for developing Windows applications.

GML
Friday, March 21, 2003

The primary advantage would be you can develop windows applications more rapidly using MFC vs. Win32, while still using C++.

dmooney
Friday, March 21, 2003

Since the topic of MFC has been brought up, I'd like to digress for a second (although I suppose this discussion could show a possible disadvantage):

I was playing around with VS6.0/MFC/C++ in my spare time the other day.  I was trying to figure out how one would design some type of "plug-in" architecture to a Doc/Vew app (the CMainFrame -- not using a Dialog app).  Something along the lines of: dll's in a directory.  On startup of the exe, it determines which dll's are in this directory and adds a button to the existing toolbar on the MainFrame and possibly menu items.

I found this article: http://www.codeguru.com/toolbar/CFileDialog.html , where the guy adds a button to the CFileDialog toolbar (he adds a button through the use of CToolBarCtrl and he gets messages to this new button by overriding WindowProc using SetWindowLong).

But that works all fine and dandy with a Dialog.  With a MainFrame, I can get the button added (using the same technique) but the button won't stay enabled.  My new WindowProc is receiving all the messages, but the button won't stay enabled!  The only way I could figure out how to keep it enabled was to add a message map entry to the message map ... but that defeats the whole purpose of a "plug-in" architecture.  I would expect to be able to load dll's that I don't envision at the moment.