Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

what comes first, product or company?

I work as a programmer for a research laboratory at a university. In a prior life, I was an independent consultant. I took the research job to have a more laid back lifestyle. 

I have a product idea that would be very useful for at least three groups at my current university. I think I could generalize it a bit and package it up with a nice installer, and hawk it to the same type of research group at EVERY university on earth. I think I could set up a business where myself and a friend could probably make a reasonably good living for ourselves with this product. 

My question is: do I create this product first, prior to forming a company, get it installed locally, and get some feedback from my university groups?  OR do I first form some type of business entity (most likely LLC) which has in the articles of organization that our focus is to build and distribute this type of software?  Any comments are appreciated.

hydrogen
Thursday, March 20, 2003

There are a number of legal issues with code ownership when you are working for a company or a university. What I've usually seen is that any code written for a company while an employee belongs to the company. Consulting gigs are a little bit iffy on this; I've always had code ownership as part of the consultant agreement to clear things up before hand.

Depending on the terms of your employment, you may actually have to leave that employment before working on your software. The university might have a legal claim of ownership otherwise.

Wayne Earl
Thursday, March 20, 2003

Get the product built first. That will be the critical path in your plan, and also by far the most time consuming.

Matthew Lock
Thursday, March 20, 2003

I agree with Matthew on the Critical Path bit (The Goal & Critical Chain - Goldratt).

I would suggest you from a company, then start work on your product - purely for legal issues.