Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

What allows GNU/Linux to produce good software?

I'm not a programmer, but consider myself a "power-user" (whatever that means). I'm curious about what people think has allowed GNU/Linux to evolve into a stable, high-quality environment, with some very excellent UI environments (my favorite is WindowMaker, along with Xfce) in so short a time, despite relying almost solely on volunteer contributions.

dh003i
Tuesday, March 18, 2003

I think it may partly be the goals.

For instance: I wanted a CD catalogging program. I wanted a specific set of features. I wrote it, and I released it, and it's been months since an update, because what's there just works.

I think the issue is at least partly (though almost certainly not entirely) due to the fact that much open software has well defined goals.

Contrast with commercial software: Even assuming the requirements stay the same during development of the first release, the company will drive to release another version, just so they can garner upgrade revenue. This leads to having to show a bigger feature list than the previous version. I submit that this leads to management strapping on features solely to lengthen the list, with poor requirements, and little consideration to how it will impact the existing codebase.

Good software isn't written that way in either the open or closed world.

Just a thought.

Mike Swieton
Tuesday, March 18, 2003