Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Once you go laptop-can you go back???

Hey alls,

I just had my laptop tweak out for a week (power cord was messed up), so I had to use my backup desktop.  It was really difficult since I didn't have freedom to sit where I wanted too....

Now, right now I telecommute, so this is not a big deal.  But have any of your had experiences where you had to switch from a laptop to a desktop, could you handle it?

razib
Wednesday, March 12, 2003

Considering tha desktops are superior in nearly every way, yes.

pb

I just got my first laptop... and I'm spoiled.

This things may be more expensive, but they sure are worth it!

Eliezer

Desktops are superior in every way? Really? I wasn't aware of that. How about mobility?

As a consultant, I move around from client to client. A laptop is critical. Even if I weren't moving around, I really enjoy the ability to take my work with me anywhere I go.

The only drawback for me is that I can't get a really good graphics card for them. I've got the GeForce 4 GO chipset and it's pretty darn sweet for a laptop, but it still doesn't compare to something like a GeForce 4 Ti-4600 or Radeon 9500.

Mark Hoffman

I got my first laptop several months ago.  It's been a fabulous experience.

Now that I can use the computer from anywhere in my house, it seems like the most natural desire in the world.  I dislike being tied to a desk now.

I love being able to hack away at my website, or work on writing a book, from a coffee shop if I want to.

I also appreciate the design that goes into a laptop.  The laptop manufacturer must think about keyboard design, ergonomics, and other issues that a desktop maker doesn't.  My laptop is a well-designed package, rather than a bunch of components that may or may not fit together well.

Brent P. Newhall