Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

MS Access or MSDE for a new development?

I'm about to start a new development using VB6 and I can't decide between using MS Access or MSDE (SQLServer Personal Edition) for the database. As a programmer, I would love to use MSDE, but I'm doing research before making a decision, mostly for deploying issues.

I have used Access for desktop apps and SQLServer for enterprise app development but I have much more experience with SQLServer than with Access. I have never used MSDE as database is a desktop app, though.

About the application: It's a semi shrink wrapped monolitic application designed to run on user desktops. The users are clients of my client, so the app will be distributed and installed exclusively by my client on the user's machines. User desktops' specifications range between Win98/ME, Win2K and WinXP.

The application allows data input for very specific surveys, does very simple calculations on data entered, and prints out reports. User activities are data-input oriented and the work is often done by several people, so there is the need for several computers to have the app installed and accessing a single database on a central machine over the LAN.

The setup program would ask if installation type is client or 'server' and the only difference should be that the server installation will host the database and all other machines should be installed as clients. When installing a client, the setup program will ask for the name of the server machine to setup an ODBC entry (or building a connection string).

The databases are small, typically from 100 to 600 three-page surveys, making something like less than 10 MB if stored in Access.