Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

From Good to Great

I'm a developer on a fairly large team and I'm looking for ideas on how to increase my contributions and make myself more valuable.  I'm a few years out of college and up until now my focus has been delivering the best designs and code I'm capable of, keeping up with new technology, and trying to strengthen my development skills.  This has worked well, but as you all know there's a lot more to a successful career than delivering solid code.

The barrier I'm running into is that I'm introverted, and there's no magic switch that will change that, so I throw this up as a general question to others in a similar situation:  What strategies have you found useful in contributing to the team beyond the fundamentals and increasing your visibility to management?

(For example, one thing that has worked for me in the past is improving teams' development processes: getting daily builds going, automated pre-checkin tests, leak detection, etc.  However, this team already has these down pretty well and is too large and established for me to make much of an impact here.)

Quiet Developer
Monday, March 10, 2003

I've established my reputation from consistently being able to take over projects that are a mess, fix all outstanding bugs, refactor the design in a sensible timescale, and show people that as a result of me taking the project on board the overall quality and customer satisfaction has improved.

Reading good books on software development helps too, as it seems that most developers just don't do this. The book reviews here are a good as place any to start.

Better than being unemployed...
Monday, March 10, 2003

Be "responsive."

My friend's dad is the owner of a large marble and tile store in New York City. He deals with high-end clients a lot.