Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Python with C or C++?

No, not a language war - chill :D

Rather, I have a question. I am presently taking up learning Python for my own edification (I'm not a professional programmer, and don't plan on being one - though I might at some point be a project manager), and after I would like to learn C or C++ - however, I really don't understand at all how they are different.

So as the value of a tool is relative to what you wish to use it for, here is what my desire to do is:

I primarily want to learn Python for client-side programming, for use in quickly building a variety of applications (preferably that run fine on as many platforms as possible), but primarily for use with games. As such I would very much like to learn languages which are more suited for GUI client-side programming than Java is (I presently already know Java and PHP, and in Java I just find it...well, not really designed for what I want to do with it, as evidenced by the attrociousness of Swing/AWT), and be sufficiently speedy for such applications.

C/C++ obviously suggests itself, but from what I have learned of Python one can merely do the majority of the work and prototyping there, then simply rewrite code which is not sufficiently speedy - or which Python doesn't/can't do as well as C/C++ - in C/C++ without much of a problem.

So the only question is...I don't really understand what the difference is in C and C++. I know that both Python and PHP are written in C, and most games are written in C++, and most cross-platform programs it seems are written in C...but I just don't know why. Apparently a big part of C++'s features are not multi-platform compatible (templates?)?

Would someone care to enlighten me to the nuances, and the ways in which one or the other is lacking or outstanding? Is there any reason I'd actually want to spend any time learning C instead of/along with C++?