Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

software to dsp work

My background is totally in software, I don't know much about FFT and various transforms to do DSP work.If I want to change fields, should I get a masters in computer engineering?
How difficult is it to pick up filtering and FFT's?

Programmer
Saturday, February 22, 2003

>> If I want to change fields, should I get a masters in computer engineering?
>> How difficult is it to pick up filtering and FFT's?

Fast fourier transforms are just one specific method out of many of signal processing, so that's the area you're really asking about. "How difficult?": signal processing has traditionally been taught in EE programs and is calculus and differential equation heavy. If you like calculus you'll do well in signal processing; if you don't you won't.

I don't know what the career path is exactly like for a programmer who wants to work with signal processing, but my guess is that an additional degree (such a master's in EE) would basically prepare you for an entry level development job in a company that has use for signal processing skills. Think military, avionics and DOD applications, and applications such as radar, not consumer level stuff, since the latter moved offshore years ago.

Bored Bystander

I'm a recent comp sci grad who has recently been doing DSP development for TI and TriMedia DSP's.  The kind of education you'd want really depends on the field where you're going to use the DSP (audio, video, general number-crunching, etc).  You'll want some kind of training/literature that compliments the area where you want to get involved.

Consumer-grade DSP stuff is pretty rare in the US anymore.  There is a huge market for military/industrial DSP work, though.

I really suggest you check out TI's web site.  A large portion of their website is dedicated to teaching people how to develop DSP applications.  Analog Devices is another good place to look.

Myron Semack