Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Ultimate programming keyboards?

As a coder I happen to type a fair amount :) The problem I've run into is that after about 10 months, the keyboard dies. Even very very nice custom ergonomic $90 ones. What kind of keyboards have you guys been using that don't wear out after a paltry few months of normal use? That don't cost hundreds of dollars?

Mike Swieton
Friday, January 25, 2002

NMB-6856T

bruce rogers
Saturday, January 26, 2002

I've been using a Microsoft ergo keyboard for a couple of years yet and it hasn't died yet. Granted, the label for the "C" key, among others, is no longer there but that's not much of a problem.

Malcolm

I'm using some "Orange" keyboard at both work and home and it's doing truly great for more then a year now.

Evgeny Goldin

I only use IBM AT or PS/2 keyboards, even going so far as to taking my own keyboard in to work and using that.  After awhile you get used to the clacking and I've yet to wear one out in the six years since I've exclusively switched to them.

More importantly, the most I've paid for one is $10, and that for a black PS/2 with eraser mouse (between the G and H keys---it works for me since I use the keyboard mostly).  Most of the time I get them for less than $5 a pop at the yearly HAM fest (even though I have a stack of IBM keyboards, I _always_ buy them).

So far, they're the best keyboards I've found.

Sean Conner

My personal favorite is the Northgate Omnikey. For those of us old enough to remember, Northgate was a computer vendor whose keyboards were so sought after that they ended up selling them separately. Unfortunately, they've been out of business for quite a few years now.

The keyboards were very solidly constructed, with a dip-switch that allowed you to tailor all sorts of stuff, like a dvorak configuration as well as sticky-keys.

Ahh...the good old days...

James Wann

What do you think about Microsoft Natural keyboards? I quite like them.