Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Sole proprietorship

I've just started on my first consulting gig and was wondering if it's necessary to get a business license or not. 

Also, would it offer any benefits to get a separate bank account if I'm just going to start out as a sole proprietorship?  It seems that as a sole proprietor, someone who sues you can still get to your personal bank account if they want to regardless of whether or not you have a separate bank account for the business.  The personal asset protection seems to only be available if you incorporate.

I realize that this is more of a software board, but it seems that there's probably several contractors here that could help.  If there's a better place to ask this then please do let me know.

Thanks for any help!

Techie
Thursday, February 20, 2003

I am NOT a lawyer. Don't take any of this as legal or business advice, only misdirected rantings...

>> I've just started on my first consulting gig and was wondering if it's necessary to get a business license or not.

Probably not - you will be under the radar sites of the local authorities since you're likely not going to be hiring people, advertising, or operating a storefront. Just look into what you need to do in order to pay local jurisdictions their tax share of your income.

>> Also, would it offer any benefits to get a separate bank account if I'm just going to start out as a sole proprietorship?  It seems that as a sole proprietor, someone who sues you can still get to your personal bank account if they want to regardless of whether or not you have a separate bank account for the business.  The personal asset protection seems to only be available if you incorporate.