Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Advice for a first-time contractor?

I have over 15 years of professional experience, but it looks like I'm about to land my first contracting (staff augmentation) position. I have plenty of experience working with contractors, but not being one of them. Luckily, I've picked their brains before about the basics, but now it's time to sink or swim.

I'm contracting as a W-2 employee and I'm actually getting a decent rate (especially considering the job market in Chicago). I'm a little nervous, it being my first time.

Does anyone have any advice that might make this transition easier? Anything I should watch out for?

Thanks!

RocketJeff
Monday, February 17, 2003

Here are some contractor oriented message boards:

http://pub21.ezboard.com/bopenitforum - The "Open IT Forum". Bluntly honest and experienced contractors and other IT folks hang out here.

http://pub102.ezboard.com/bcomputerconsultants - The message board sponsored by Janet Ruhl, the computer contracting writer, and her 'Realrates' web site.

Advanced client management questions and discussions on industry direction are best posted in the Open IT Forum. The Realrates BBS is mainly frequented by newbies who ask Contracting 101 questions such as the difference between 1099 and corp to corp contracts, etc. Open IT has more of a community feel, while Realrates is closely aligned with entry level contractor interests.

http://www.realrates.com  - Contains a survey of going rates for IT industry contractors, categorized and searchable by discipline and location, and some useful white papers.

Also check out http://rmpcp.com, which is an 'umbrella' service for contractors - a kind of payrolling service and commitment free corporate identity. This person has many links for other web sites of interest to contractors at this site.

Do you have specific questions?

Bored Bystander