Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Is a college degree really that important?

Hello,

I just wondered, how many of you do have a college/university degree in computer science or software engineering, how many have a degree in a related field (like maths, physics or the like) and who just is a selfmade-man (or -woman).

The reason I ask is, that I do not have a degree myself (I did teacher training for English and history, but dropped out before I got a degree there). I take computer science classes at a "long distance university" and hope to get a Bachelor degree in a few years time, but it is a lot of additional work and sometimes I wonder if it is worth the effort, since the things I learn there are only remotedly connected to my everyday work.

I work as a C++ programmer in the field of image processing for two years now and have a job I am very happy and content with. So I am not asking: Is it necessary to have a degree to get a good job. For me, obviously, it was not. What I would like to know is: Do you feel your college education in computer science really helps you along in your job? Can you imagine to do the same job without that education, just with learning-by-doing and reading books or attending seminars on special issues when you need them.

Thanks for any replies,

Jutta Jordans
Thursday, January 24, 2002

I have a first degree in Engineering and a PhD in Computer-aided-Design, and I now program Computer-aided-Design systems. I do use significant chunks of what I studied - but primarily because I studied what I program about, rather than studying programming or software-engineering itself.

A mixture of the two would probably be ideal.

I am still waiting to add Dupin's cyclides (the topic of my PhD) to our CAD systems... it has come fairly close once or twice, but I don't think it will ever happen!

Tim

Tim Sharrock

You don't have to have a degree in computer science but it helps.