Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Single point of failure

I was reading Joel's account of installing his colocated server.  He spent extra money on dual power supplies, dual network adapters and hot swappable drives.  Then he goes and pipes this though a single $35 network switch.  If that fails his server won't be accessible at all and the ability to reboot it remotely will be worth nothing.

Just some friendly advice from another software developer who wears a netwotk admin hat every now and then...

Tim Bond
Wednesday, February 12, 2003

I'm a software developer, not a network guy, but I would say its one of my "hobbies".  I've NEVER heard of a switch "dying".  The most advanced ones use minimal software to do their job, so I don't see how they would break. (other then bad configuration, or Joe Admin tripping over it).

Vincent Marquez

We lost one switch once, because of overheating due to a fan. Fortunately our colocation provided us with a replacement until we bought a replacement (on eBay, of course.)

Leonardo Herrera

Isn't this akin to saying "asprin is cheap, it has no use!"

Prakash S

> I've NEVER heard of a switch "dying". 

Im a programmer too, and by no means a seasoned network technician. But where I work we have had network outages because of switches dying on us. It happens, and those dying switches were not the
$35 home-office-style ones. These were big brand name ones.

Patrik

The crucial redundancy Joel's bought mostly prevents long hours of development restore I think. Besides this website I don't see how bad it would be to lose the net connection once in a while. But it's a risk.