Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Universities' Crusade Against Microsoft

What's going on in this country's CS departments?  I've been a software engineer for ten years, and I'm half way through my MSCS and I don't believe there has ever been a reference to a Microsoft development tool in school. 

Love Microsoft or hate it (and I seriously hope this thread doesn't degenerate into a stupid Windows vs. *nix flame war) its development products absolutely should not be ignored after five years of Computer Science training.

...And I'm not exaggerating:

* Java is the official language of the department.  It's ridiculous to have a toy language as your official language in the first place - computer scientists should be taught in C/C++.  But it seems to me that they made this choice simply so they could turn out a generation of coders without experience in any Visual Studio language.  Including the only real languages *every* computer scientist/software engineer must know, C/C++.

* Database courses without a single reference to SQL Server.  Oh yes, there were references to Adabase, MUMPS, DBase and DB2/400, but it is as if there never existed a company called Microsoft.  (Any interaction we had with an actual RDBMS was, of course, with Oracle.)

* Assembly Language class? Only MIPS.

* Operating Systems?  They actually mentioned Windows, but only in passing.  Any programming was done with Nachos / Unix systems programming.

* Computer Architecture?  Only MIPS.

* Compiler Design & Implementation?  Written in Java to compile a subset of Java.