Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Do only geniuses get hired in US

I am not an American. I have around 4 years experience in IT (Basically Oracle and VB/Oracle Forms etc).

I have sent around 300 resumes without even a reply from anyone. I consider myself quite competent- above average and concscentious programmer.

This has left me seriously disillusioned. I do not understand why  i dont even get a call!!. Even for jobs which i think my skills are an overkill, i dont get responses.!

I do not mention that i am a foreigner (Meaning i need H1B visa sponsorship). But what tips can someone give me here which will help me get an interview call atleast?. Excluding visiting job sites and networking-i dont know anyone.
Is there any special things i need to add in my resume or format it in some fashion- do all these make any difference?

anon
Friday, February 07, 2003

Americans also find that they have to send out over 500 resumes to get a job, and sometimes even that isn't enough.

Generally, you do have to be outstanding in this economy to get hired, and based on your self-description there are thousands and thousands of equally qualified people as you who are still unemployed.

T. Norman

No, usually companies do not require geniuses to get the work done. They need normal people, with good skills that solve more problems than they create.

Yet, there is a phsyhological factor that reverses this  statement to "We couldn't find anybody qualified ...". This factor is fear: the fear of loosing ones job.

As long as the company needs new people - people that could not be found in thousands resumes - our jobs are safe. Right?

With less jobs on the market this is quite an understandable reaction, but the end result is that the IT job market is driven by fear.

Be patient and persistent. Good luck
Dino

Dino

No, you don’t have to be a Genius at all.