Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

IT Outsourcing Oversees

I am a programmer analyst (VB6 VB.net, J2EE) in NY who graduated during the boom in 1996. Now things are very different obviously due to market conditions.

Although people are pointing to an economic recovery in the next year or so, I am getting a little scared about all of the articles being written about IT outsourcing to the 3rd world nations like India & China.

It seems like not too long ago there were all these stats in not having enough IT people to fill all of the current jobs as well as the jobs of the future. Many were imported here to fill those positions (many companies pay less $$ an sponser immigrants for permanent residency).

If companies start getting rid of internal IT and outsource to these other countries we'll have to immigrate there or start flipping burgers!!!!!!!!!

How does everyone feel about this?

KenB
Thursday, February 06, 2003

I feel that you should do a search in the archives for outsourcing and read all of the previous responses... (Enter outsourcing in the "search" box to your left).

Not another horse!

Ken,

I think to sum up what alot of people have said, basically all of the 'shrink-box' software will eventually go to 3rd world countries.  I don't particularly like that term btw.  Consulting work will stick around because it's so hard to do a good job without face-to-face time with the client.  Example:  I work out of my home office (for a small consulting firm) and probably meet with customers once or twice a month and find it invaluable.  Customers generally don't know how to ask what they are looking to do and being onsite helps alot.  Until these companies like InfoSys have offices in every city (which raises their costs, and their prices, etc), you should not have to worry about consulting jobs going away. 

GiorgioG

>> Many were imported here to fill those positions (many companies pay less $$ an sponser immigrants for permanent residency). <<