Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

VB.Net vs C#

I am about embark on the .net learning curve and I am torn between VB and C#.

I have almost no C experience (beyond two intro classes) and I have fiddled with VB.net for a couple of days.  I feel like a complete rookie (I have 4 years experience with VB 6 dev ) so it occurs that now would be the ideal time to C#.

Any lawful impediment why we shant be joined?

B#
Wednesday, February 05, 2003

VB.NET and C# tend to be so similar except very superficial syntax differences that I don't think it makes a particular difference which one you learn, particularly since you use a common class API for both. 

Learn one and then pick the other one up in about 2 days.  Doesn't matter which you learn first, IMO.  VB.Net might be a tad easier if you're coming in from a VB background.

Mr Nutty

I just recently installed Visual Studio .net and, like you, I had to decide which language to run with.

I'm an avid VB developer but I also have experience with C, C++, PHP, and other C-like programming languages.

That said, I don't see any point in learning VB.net.  The languages are virtually identical except that VB.net is a bit more limited and looks a bit like VB6 code.  C# is the primary .net language, you can't really go wrong using it.

Wayne Venables

I'm at about the same point (4+ years of VB dev experience, starting .NET) and chose to go with C# over VB for two main reasons:  so I don't get confused when I go back to VB6, and so I get practice looking at code that *looks* very different (e.g., uses curly braces), even if it's functionally equivalent to VB.NET.

Sam Gray

I am leaning toward C#.

One thing I didn't expect was the resentment I feel for not being able to leverage more of my current VB 6 knowledge (such as it is).  I anticipate this wouldn't be as prevalent with C#.

B#

Thanks for the input, it is appreciated!

B#