Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

ClearCase Source Control

I am a consultant working in NYC.  The last two places that I have worked have each recently switched to Rational ClearCase.  In both places management wanted ClearCase and the developers emphatically did not.  In all cases where I have seen it used with any success at all there was an employee of Rational on site fixing the problems that came up.  Personally, based on my experiences, I will be adding 5% to all time estimates when CC is required.

My questions: 
What experiences have others in the JOS community had with this product (positive or negative)? 
Is anyone out there using it successfully? 
Did you need a Rational employee on site to use it? 
What does CC do for you that the other similar products will not?

Thanks in advance.

RW
Wednesday, February 05, 2003

I had a boss once who had used ClearCase at a previous job. "It's terrific!" he said. "I wish we could use it here! It's so good, we had a FULL TIME ADMINISTRATOR at the last place just to keep that thing running!"

Joel Spolsky

At my last employer, we had several developers pushing to use ClearCase. They thought it was an excellent product and had used it successfully at previous employeers. The only reason we didn't adopt it was the belt-tightening that was going on (resulting in my being let go during the 3rd round of layoffs).

Of course, we were using Sun's CodeManager to coordinate development being done at three locations (each on a different continent) so it probably would have been a giant step forward.

jeff

I like the neat way that ClearCase is a viewable as a file system (albeit only on the good platforms) so that you can do continuous integration.

It seems a little heavyweight, however.

In my limited experience, it's decent, but it does seem to need a lot of administration work.  I shudder to recomend it because it's expensive..

w.h.