Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

SDI vs. MDI

Joel,
As a Delphi programmer, I've been looking all over for a site that provides information on programming UI design as opposed to the technical aspect of programming, and I believe I just found it! Having perused your chapters on designing a UI (excellent by the way), do you have any thoughts on SDI vs. MDI for Window programmers like myself who develop single-tier applications for home based and small office PC's? Any suggestions, comments you have to offer regarding this subject matter would be most appreciated. Thank you ahead of time.

Martin Potokar
Wednesday, January 16, 2002

Tog mentions something about it, though his site is very bare on the topic:
http://www.asktog.com/readerMail/2000-07ReaderMail.html#Anchor2

Greg

My thoughts on this are: give the user the option to choose which one.

I use Opera as my main browser, but I remember hating previous versions partly because it just didnt work as well as IE or Netscape and partly because it was a MDI interface. Fat forward to version 5 (and onwards) and they improved the functionality, and I much prefer using it precisely because it is an MDI application. I use Win2000 so I don't like a million browser windows cluttering up my task bar. I know WinXP fixes this by grouping windows, but I dont have this option.

In Opera 6 they now give you a choice on whether you want to use it as an MDI or SDI application. You can change at any time. This obviously helps people who are used to browsing with or prefer SDI apps.

Kenshi

MDI is pretty much considered evil now for a range a reasons, but mostly because it is confusing. Who needs a small desktop within a desktop?