Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Good developers don't just do it for the money

Is there anybody out there for whom this is true?

Im a good developer. 
I do it *entirely* for the money.
As a coincidence I also happen to love programming, but if it wasn't for the money I wouldn't be doing the work I am doing.  <g> Id be writing the 'next big thing'.
In fact, if it wasn't for the money, Id prolly be doing something else entirely....tree pruning perhaps...

So..lets hear it, are there any developers left out there who do not work for the money?
If so, what do you do?  what is it you love so much about it?

Hasan Basri
Thursday, January 30, 2003

I do it for 2 reasons.  Firstly, the money.  Secondly, I can't think of anything else I'd rather do.  If the first reason goes though, it might be easier to find a replacement.

not my regular made up name

This is like that question in "Office Space", right?  If you had a million dollars?

Anyhoo... 

Nat Ersoz

The question should have been "What would you be doing in a communist state where everyone gets paid the same?"

RM

"Two chicks at the same time..."

GiorgioG

Note the question:

"Good developers don't *just* do it for the money" (emphasis added).

As the original poster said: "As a coincidence, I also happen to love programming". Well, you don't just do it for the money then. Ergo, that is true! :)

Nah, seriously though: it's a job: I seriously doubt that there's anyone who does it that cares nothing for the money. But I'd be very surprised if that was the sole consideration.

Mike Swieton

"Is there anybody out there for whom this is true?"

Where have you been hiding?  Haven't you ever heard of the Open Source movement or the word hobbyists?

Perhaps you check out http://slashdot.org/

Lots of "software should be free" advocates seem to hangout there.

one programmer's opinion
Friday, January 31, 2003

Yeah, but how do they pay rent?