Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

random programming guy: job title?

hi,
i have a job at the moment where i'm designing some wildly overscoped and impossible J2EE system....by myself. I have a very broad background, and I work in a lab with a bunch of researchers.

Often times some researchers that work near me will have small programming tasks they need done, like "i need a way to go to this web site, submit a search query, then suck down all 158 results into a text file. but only need the first three columns."  Or, "i need a quick hack to display this data from my database in a scatter plot with a web form to change the variables, for a presentation."    As a break from my "real" project, I'll often take an hour, to a day, to help these other guys out.

I've been working for a few years, and have found that I actually prefer doing these quick one-off hacks, than I do actually architecting out huge systems. If I could just be the jack-of-all trades, on call to help people out with small problems, I'd be very happy. My question is, do companies actively hire people like this? What would the job title be? What is an industry, other than academic research, where people like this would be needed? 

Thanks!

grandelatte
Wednesday, January 29, 2003

> My question is, do companies actively hire people like this?

Pehaps those jobs that say:  C++, VB, Java, Perl, Sybase, Unix, shell scripts, SQL, etc, etc  fit into that "jack of all trades" position

Bella

I have been that guy, and no they don't hire for that but if you work in a large enough department long enough that becomes your role, and if youre manager is a human being, he will reduce your primary role accordingly.

The key is you have to make your manager aware of what you are doing/being asked to do, so the impossible J2EE project is not unexpectadly late because of the hacks (or at least let the manager decide).

Daniel Shchyokin