Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

skillsets - how to expand into databases

Basically I am an out of work programmer, most of the work I have dne beofer has been Java and C++, but I never had to deal much with relational databases, as most of the stuff I have worked with has been scientific computing and desktop and networking apps without database backends.
I am finding without at least one job experience with a database backend(Oracle,MySql) whatever, it's a key disadvantage.I have taken courses and know most of the theory regarding relational db's, and have played around with them,but have no real world paid experience with them.It's the same cache 22 situation.How can I convince employers about my db skills?

sk
Tuesday, January 28, 2003

Developers can download Oracle for free here http://otn.oracle.com/software/products/oracle9i/content.html

You can also download a trial version of MS SQL Server here:
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/evaluation/trial/default.asp

Why not set up a small development webserver at home to practice with using Oracle and/or SQL server as the backend?

Then at an interview bring screenshots of what you've built or better still a laptop with it all running on and walk them through it.

Matthew Lock

I second what Matthew has to say.

Prakash S

I third what Matthew has to say. I know a small development company in Alaska that built a special really cool web connected Oracle database for a restaurant (I think it was a restaurant) they liked for free to use to demonstrate their business to customers (I think the database provided information about places to eat in Anchorage? Can’t remember.). You might do this to help you get a job.