Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Working For A Small Software Company

Folks,

I am interested in getting some feedback from those of you who have worked in a small software firm, say < 25 employees.

I would appreciate any insights you have regarding:

* Project successes/disasters
* Aspects of the job you liked the most/least
* Comments on management
* Background regarding your responsibilities

Please respond to whatever catches your fancy. 

As always, rants and raves appreciated.

Chad R. Millen
Monday, January 27, 2003

I'm a developer for a company of 44 people.

It can be great and it can be terrible.  I think that the key to success lies with those who started the company.  Your founders - they are the key.  They are the true believers and they've staked plenty on this venture. 

I think the key questions become:
. What are they like?  Are they dedicated to the company?  Or just in it to "turn the crank" or flip an IPO?
. Are they in charge?  What did they give up to get funding?  Who is in charge?  An investor appointed CEO?  The board?

It is not to say that an investor appointed CEO is bad - ours is great - but now you must add him/her into the equation of potential success.

To be small and succeed against much larger companies everyone must be first rate in their area of expertise.  If its customer support, development, test, sales...  The only way you're going to succeed against much larger companies is to be the very best.

The vision and enthusiasm that the founders bring to the culture is what is going to help motivate you and your fellow worker bees onto success.  That, love of what you do, and your first tastes of success really help.  Because there is downside, lots of downside...