Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

how do i find part time tech work?

I want to go back to school for medicine, and recently tried to take some pre-requisite courses whilst working full time. I've learned it is pretty hard to take organic chemistry while working 60 hours a week! anyway, something has to give, and I'm thinking of trying to find a part time job. I was wondering if anyone here works on a part time basis? Or has tips on how to locate part time work? craig's list has a part time category, but most of it is not tech-related. Is part-time possible in this industry, or should i start applying to starbucks?

parttimer
Thursday, January 23, 2003

I am a part time Teacher - around 20 hours a week, and go to grad school full time.

My suggestion: Find job in your school itself, there are always some networking, web dev positions open.

best,

Prakash S

hey good point prakash. i'll start there. thanks!

parttimer

Definitely try to find a job with the school. 

If that doesn't work, then your looking at taking a more entrepreneurial approach.  While this is bad for med studies, it might be good for future-medical-practice-owner studies. 

None of the companies I've worked for have ever had part time help, but I've known plenty of companies that could have used it.

not my regular made up name

In addition to finding work *at* your school, most schools also have a department dedicated to getting outside jobs for their students.  You may be able to access job listings that won't show up in the paper, etc.

Also, part time tech work may be more easily come by in the nonprofit world, because of budget limitations.  However, salaries aren't going to be great there for the same reason.

Local user groups can also be a great way to network.

Sam Gray

There must be tons of businesses which need IT help but can't justify hiring a whole person. I guess the trick is not to look for a job but promote a service available to be booked a set amount per week.

Tony E