Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

VB or VC++

Hi,
I'm a graduating Masters student looking for employment in the next six months. I'm fairly comfortable with C and C++ in  Unix environment. I'am now looking to venture into Windows programming, considering I'm already fairly proficient in C++, what should I spend my time on, Visual Basic? or Visual C++?

ubaid dhiyan
Tuesday, January 21, 2003

If you want to do GUI development, you may take look on Borland C++ Builder. Its C++ and its form designer is better than VB.

Pavel

Depends on what you want to do.  If you're looking for actual employment in the boring old business world, VB has a ridiculous market share, particularly for database access, and it's ridiculously easy to pick up the syntax.  Given that there are a lot of "one-off" apps (and, actually, some more serious ones) in VB, it probably can't hurt to know it.

Sam Gray

Learn both.

Seriously.

Both environments have been used for a lot of apps over the years. Just about every shop is going to have a combination of the two around.

If you want to get involved in the Windows world, learn COM. Start with VB - it makes it easy to create simple COM objects. Then move on to doing it with C++. The VB knowledge will serve you in good stead as a way to build test harnesses and COM clients.

Chris Tavares
Wednesday, January 22, 2003

VB is dead, forget it. Your choice is .net or C++

Tony E

"VB is dead, forget it. Your choice is .net or C++ "

Sorry - but this is just not true.  VB and C++ part of the same package (Visual Studio) and I would imagine they will both be supported by MS for an equal amount of time. 

There is stll a vast amount of work out there for VB programmers, so it is still auseful language to have at least a working knowledge of.

.Net is the one to learn for the future though.

Matt

Tony E -- perhaps Ubaid really meant VB.Net, not 'plain old VB' but just wasn't explicit?

Ubaid?