Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Java. Book Recommendations

Hi,

I am just starting out in java.

I am planning to use J2SE1.41 and I will be using swing.

The apps I am going to write will be desktop database apps linking to an SQL server e.g. MySql

Is there one book that encompasses all I need to know or can anyone recommend a book on swing, jdbc etc..

BTW I have used clipper, xbase++, foxpro and other 4gl programming languages but no Java

Mike Grace
Tuesday, January 21, 2003

Well, I like Java, but this is something I would not use it for. Maybe Delphi, or VB.

Stephan

This doesn't answer your specific requirement, but if I had to recommend just one java book to someone it would be "Thinking in Java" by Bruce Eckel.

You can download it for free from www.bruceeckel.com

Not a beginner's book, but a great resource for an experienced programmer.

Bruce Perry

Yeah I second that. TIJ is a great book. I am a bit of a sucker for O'Reilly's books. They really hammer down some of the topics really well but as references sometimes comes up short. I especially enjoy Java Network Programming, JDBC, Java Threads, Java I/O, Java NIO, and JDBC from these guys. Most people won't go this route (buying lots of books) unless they are sure they will be using Java for sure in the next few years though, so YMMV.

Li-fan Chen

I've not read it myself, but I've heard good things about Core Java.

It does give coverage of the subjects youre talking about.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/0130927384/qid=1043165105/sr=8-3/ref=sr_8_3/102-0030574-4992162?v=glance&s=books&n=507846

Ged Byrne

I usually recommend the "Core Java 2" books by Horstmann and Cornell.

Just me (Sir to you)

A Programmer's Guide to Java Certification by Khalid Mughal is outstanding. It has just enough good-quality coverage to get you started, including Swing. Once you get through, prepare to buy more books :-)

Java book worm