Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Which technology for RPC through the Net?

Hi,

I'm currently looking at the different solutions available to move to a multi-tier architecture, and would like some opinions on the good technologies currently available to make that code accessible to our customers over the Net (ie. unknown latency, security risks.)

As a newbie, I've heard of XML-RPC, SOAP, DCOM (non .Net env't), Remoting (.Net), and Corba.

Are there others I should know about? Ideally, it should be easy on a VB developer (ie. should not require learning a new and difficult language if the code on the server needs to be rewritten.)

Thx much

Frederic Fauer
Monday, January 20, 2003

Either DCOM and .Net involves a lot of licensing fees (because you have to own either Visual Basic 6.0 or VB.NET 1.0) so use the one you can afford. If you can afford to upgrade you might save sometime using .NET, but really depends on your requirements. Tell us more!

Li-fan Chen
Monday, January 20, 2003

Technically neither DCOM or .NET *require* any licence fees beyond owning the OS.

You can write .NET code with just the freely download able SDK.  You might not get the nice (?) GUI of VS.Net but it will produce the same code.

To be more helpful: why are you looking to move to a multi-tier environment?  Answering that question would help you decide which RPC technology to use rather than making a pure technology decision.

Probably the easiest to get up to speed on would be .NET remoting or maybe SOAP using one of the toolkits if you don't want to make the jump from VB6 to VB.Net.

(.NET remoting as a technology can use different formatters between end points, one of which is SOAP under the hood).

Just another dude
Monday, January 20, 2003

Thx guys... but I'd rather avoid going .Net right now, and SOAP seems more complicated than XML-RPC. And Corba seems even more of a pain. Are there other ways that I should know about?