Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Math

I think I posted long ago that my degree is in linguistics, not CS. I didn't have to take a lot of math in college or graduate school, except for a couple of courses like statistics. This hasn't made any difference in working on web database applications, but maybe a project will come along some day where some kind of math is required. I also thought that knowing math might help me get ideas for projects, although I doubt it. But aside from any practical concerns, if I knew math at least I might know whether or not I been missing something. Also it's good exercise for your brain.
Over the years I have read math books now and then so I am not completely ignorant. If I want to give myself a basic education in math, without spending 10 years on it (maybe one year of evenings) what topics should I try to cover? As far as I know discrete math is the most relevant to CS, and I guess you have to know calculus for graphics.
What topics are considered most important for CS majors, and what text books do you recommend?

PC
Tuesday, January 14, 2003

Business Math, Algebra.  Graphics and computer programming in general do not necessarily use calculus.  I guess it depends on what you are doing.  3D graphics rely heavily on things like Quaternions, Vector and Matrix Algebra.  The events you are trying to model may in fact require knowledge of calculus.

I would say learn trigonometry and then calculus. There are so many real world problems that can be solved with trig and calculus that you will almost certainly increase your proeblem-solving skills by becomming familiar with both disciplines (especially if you ever plan on doing any low-level graphics programming or physics simulation programming).