Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Mentors and Software Engineering

When working at my first development job, my team leader became my mentor.  Not in a formal sense - this company didn't have one of those established mentor programs that I'm reading a lot about these days - but he just took me under his wing.  He was a 'pragmatic programmer' and I learned more from him in two years than I ever learned at school, or in any other job.

Since then, the companies I've worked for have had cultures that discourage this sort of relationship among developers.  By this I mean that senior developers have had an insane amount of work to do, so it would have disadvantaged them professionally to waste precious time talking to junior developers. 

I've been doing this for twelve years, so I'm actually a "senior" developer right now, but I know older, crustier coders who are absolutely fantastic at their craft.  If I could work in a mentor/mentee relationship I know that I could hone my craft at twice the rate I do now with much less effort.

Two questions:
(1) Anybody else have experiences like this they'd like to share?
(2) Do most companies discourage this as a waste of time?

anon
Wednesday, January 08, 2003

(1) Two jobs ago, I worked under one of those insanely busy senior developers in a big corp.  I did learn a lot from her when we did get a chance to work together and I remember wishing we could do it more.  One job ago, I worked at a tiny shop under the founder/lead developer.  We both learned quite a lot from one another.  Having been there and done that, I don't think I could go back to an environment where mentoring was discouraged.

(2) I don't know what most companies do, but those that discourage mentoring are shooting themselves in the foot.  Sadly, I think most companies tend to like shooting themselves in the foot.

Sam Gray