Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

How do you get a programming position?

How many people out there are unemployed?

I graduated from a technical college with an associates degree in programming in May of 2001.  After six months of failed interviews, I finally land a position after a direct call to the employee.  Big mistake.  This guy took me for all I was worth.  I worked my butt off for him days, nights and weekends.  The SOB then has the nerve to bounce my paychecks and on the last payday that I worked for him he could'nt or would'nt pay me.  I quit.  Not getting paid and having 3 paychecks bounce does'nt cut it for me. 

It is now 9 months after I quit and I still can't seem to land a programming position.  I have had 2 interviews in 9 months.  Whoop Dee Doo.  I can't believe how HR people treat you.  Call you in for an interview and then a week later send you a "I'm sorry but you did'nt have the experience we were looking for" letter even though they hire one of your classmates with the same damn experience who supposedly had an "in" at the company. Or most of the time they don't even respond to your application.  Then when you call them and ask for a solid reason why you were'nt hired, they repeat the letter and say "Sorry can't discuss that with you for legal reasons". Legal reasons my ass.  There is so much favoritism in hiring it's unbelievable.  What gives HR people and companies that right?  Aren't there laws against it?  Hey this guy has 10 years of experience, but o wait my 18 year old cousin just got out of school and needs a job.  Gratz cous.

"Getting in" seems to be impossible.  I've done everything.  Networking with people, distributing my resume at job fairs, to recruiters, on the net, applying for local positions - internships -, build a portfolio - you name it.

Someone tell me - How in the hell do you land a programming position with a solid company? 

It seems to me you just have to be damned lucky or know someone who can get you in.