Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Handling multipler version of standard OCXs?

Hi,

I'm not an expert on OCX components, so I might be unaware of something obvious to experts out there... but is there a clean, tried and true way to keep multiple versions of a given standard (ie. Microsoft) OCX in a Windows host, so that applications that depend on those versions do not break if a customer installs additional applications that replace those OCXs with different (older, or possibly newer) versions?

Since our applications makes use of standard Windows OCXs like RichEdit etc., the inevitable issue that has popped up every so often, is that a customer installs additional applications that replace the ones we installed, with different versions of the same OCXs.

As of now, I haven't investigated to see if Visual Basic is hard-wired to only accept the exact same version that was used in the project intially, or if it accepts using more recent versions of an OCX.

I understand that COM provides the capability of supporting multiple versions of an object in one OCX file through new interfaces, so I assume the problems we have only occur when another application installed an OCX that is older than the one we used to build the project.

I have read on the Net that a given OCX can have only one entry in the Registry, making it impossible to support multiple versions. Is that true?

=> In the mean time, my dad came up with the quick & dirty solution of keeping copies of standard OCXs in our local directory, and renaming the files before registering them in the Registry. I really don't like this idea, but... is there a better solution?

Thx much for any tip

Frederic Faure
Tuesday, January 07, 2003

>>As of now, I haven't investigated to see if Visual Basic is hard-wired to only accept the exact same version that was used in the project intially, or if it accepts using more recent versions of an OCX.