Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

does programming make you dumber?

Back in college, I was pretty smart. I could sleep through all my math classes,and get A's (i have a math degree.) After college I needed some money, so I became a programmer (maybe I wasn't so smart...) I have been programming for about five years, and got bored, so I took an introductory cellular and molecular biology course at the local university.  I barely made it through the course.

I would think I would know the material, but would get totally destroyed on the exams. I didn't get destroyed on the exams because I didn't know the material - I studied about 3 or 4 hours a day. I got destroyed because I couldn't apply my knowledge of the material to the tricky questions. I.e. use "critical thinking skills." This was particularly worrisome because I thought that critical thinking skills were what I was developing all day at my programming job.  I've never felt so stupid in my life.

I have two theories as to why I sucked:

1. I'm old (28) and just am not as smart as I used to be
2. the "task switching" problem - working all day on something not really related to bio, made it hard to switch to bio at night

Has anyone else experienced this?

worried
Saturday, January 04, 2003

First "programming" means different things to different people. Second, at 28 you're probably just not onto studying as much as in college. You probably think you slept through your classes but I bet you actually put forth alot of effort...(maybe it's nostalgia)

Dean Wormer

I don't have a good feelingh about either of your two hypothesis.

Is it possible that because you are now successful that you thought it wouldn't be too hard and just didn't apply yourself enough?

Is this a problem that has repeated in several classes or just one you have taken.