Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Thingy Programming

>If I started talking in this forum about "thingy" >programming because "object oriented" was "too long
>to type and I don't feel like it", I doubt if I would be
>taken seriously.

Heh.  See Programming Perl by Larry Wall.  :-)

Seriously, in Perl, objects are called "Thingies."

I'm a VC programmer, but I'm a huge perl fan. 

I think that's funny.  Sorry.  The God and Computers discussiion was getting too long. :-)

Matt H.
Friday, January 03, 2003

It's not in the index of the 3rd edition and I don't see it scanning through the chapter on objects. Do you have an earlier edition? has it been deprecated?

I like the concept and  would like a solid reference before I start preaching the word about Thingies.

X. J. Scott
Friday, January 03, 2003

I've got the 2nd Edition -

Chapter 4: References and Nested Data Structures

"...The other kind of reference is the hard reference.  A hard reference refers not to the name of another variable (which is just a container of a value) but rather to an actual value, some internal glob of data, which we will call a "thingy", in honor of that thingy that hangs down in the back of your throat ... Suppose, for example, that you create a hard reference to the thingy contained in the variable @array ..."

Chapter 5 "Packages, Modules, and Object Classes"

"Perls Objects

Here are three simple definitions that you may find reassuring:

An object is simply a refrenced thingy that happens to know which class it belongs to ... (SNIP)

An object is simply a referenced thingy (BOLD, big type)