Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

ERP Programmer and sick of it

Anyone has been in the same boat.

I would like to switch to Java or something sexier,
any tips/advices are more than welcome

Depressed IT Boy
Monday, January 07, 2002

I understand your situation. I was a C++ programmer at a company (the only one...) when they decided to switch to SAP. They sent me to ABAP class along with the rest of the programming staff (RPG programmers on an AS/400). I had a job interview for my next job on the Thursday of the week I was in class...

As to how to get into something else, the best way is to work at a job where they want you for your current skills but will let you do projects in your desired area. It's best to have some knowledge/experience (or at least a class or two) with the skill set you want to go into.

Also, don't choose a new area because it's 'sexy' or 'hot' - that's a sure recipe for disaster. Instead, find out what has good long term survivability or has skills that can be applied to other areas. Also, stay away from proprietary languages/tools (this time).

Jeff Pleimling
Monday, January 07, 2002

I concur about staying away from proprietary tools/products.  There is no better way to put your future at risk.  If your future in IT is tied to the success of a single software vendor, you're probably not going to have a long-lasting career (I say this knowing that SAP has been around for quite a while).  Nothing lasts forever.

Develop your skills around tools that work across multiple platforms and/or embrace open standards whenever possible.  I'd recommend building skills in C++, and perhaps looking at the .Net platform/C#.  These new technologies are as open as anything that has ever been done by Microsoft, and there are going to be no shortage of opportunities to convert legacy MS applications to the new platform.

randy
Monday, January 07, 2002

I am 31 years old.