Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

World Class code - How Many Years ?

I am just getting started into programming.

And I would love to know how many years
of experience did he took you to write world class code.

Did you ever came across someone who manage to
write very good code after one year programming ?

Amateur
Monday, January 07, 2002

After 12 years, still learning...

Robert Chevallier
Monday, January 07, 2002

I am aware that learning new tricks is a life long experience.

Did you meant that after 12 years you still do not produce world class code ?

Amateur
Monday, January 07, 2002

You're asking a loaded question.

One has to be pretty full of themselves to say, "I've been coding for X years and I'm world class baby."

And, what do you mean by "world class"? Do you mean a programmer who creates clean, maintainable code with few bugs or one who can hack into an FBI database?

BTW (with the anonymity of this discussion group) I can safely say: after 6 years of writing software, used by thousands of people around the world, I'm world class baby!

World Class
Monday, January 07, 2002

You're asking the wrong question, I think.  Writing code is easy.  Most anyone can do it.  Solving problems, on the other hand, is HARD.

If you're not good at solving problems expressed in English, you'll never become good at solving them in C.

Secondly, there is no way to measure what constitutes "World Class code".  No one has ever won a Olympic gold medal for code terseness or an Emmy for Best Supporting Subroutine In An Open Source Project.  And how long it takes you to be PROFICIENT at programming has a lot to do with what problems you're trying to solve.  Writing the world's 10,000th implementation of Tetris is substantially an easier problem than, oh, say, Natural Language Processing.