Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Software development team structure

I'm a software development professional, and I'm organizing a project team for a new development initiative.  This will include some recruiting of new team members and the use of team members from our partner company, a very large commercial software development company.  I have no experience in working on a commercial effort with resources from two different organizations.

I'm concerned about two issues.  First, how to define the roles of the team members that are recruited to work for my company versus the team members from the commercial development partner.  Their resources are supposed to be "experts", but we all know that the place where someone works is never a good indicator of their level of skill.  I have full control when it comes to managing the technical aspects of the project, so control of team structure and/or delegation of development assignments are not an issue.  What is the best way to make these two separate groups form a cohesive team?

The second issue I'm concerned about is team leadership.  I want to create several lead positions on the team to be responsible for certain product features.  What is the best way to communicate these messages to the team?  What can I do to help ensure that team members will not become disengaged from the project if they expect to be selected but eventually will not be?

Any feedback on this multi-organization project would be greatly appreciated.

software development professional
Monday, January 07, 2002

Get yourseleve the book called 'The Pragmatic Programmer'. You'll find some good tips in there. I highly recommend the book. It has helped me in more ways than I can ever be thankfull for. I too was in the same position once.

Regards
Nigel

Nigel Soden
Monday, January 07, 2002