Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Hiring (Again)

Maybe I am extremly nit-picky, but I would really like to hear other peoples' thoughts on this (whining ahead).

I am a self-employed developer in Europe and despite the current situation, I have more than enough to do. Being a coder by heart, I do have troubles motivating people, because I think interesting projects and good pay would suffice. In the past I hired other self-employed developers to outsource some work and most of them would be doing, what contractors are expected to do: overcharge, pretending to have skills they do not have and so on.

Now I thought about getting some permanent staff. I do expect a lot, but the pay is very good, the environment is casual and I like to think one can get along with me quite easily. After digging through a lot of resumes, I found one person that has been unemployed for more than 15 months, but has worked on some bigger projects.

After the interview I called him and we agreed that he would be working on a three-days-per-week basis and that I would email the details.

A day later he emailed and asked, if he could work Tuesdays to Thursdays. I assume that he wants to extend the week-end. Since I do not want to rely on guesswork I replied that I am still in the planing phase and asked if there was a special reason. While waiting for an answer, I can't help wondering if this is the first thing a newly employed should ask. If I was in his shoes, I would have at least waited for the employer's offer. It just has a bad taste to it.

I do understand that I am not offering a high-class job for a top-notch company (on a three-day-basis, no less), but I guess a sophisticated developer would enjoy working with me. Maybe after having mostly bad experiences, I am excessively careful, but I am really interested in what you have to say.

Thomas - Newly born employer
Wednesday, December 18, 2002

<<
A day later he emailed and asked, if he could work Tuesdays to Thursdays.
>>