Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Mr. Moneybags

A lot of debates on these forums between software professionals end with one party presenting indisputable facts and the other party retorting with "Well I make more money than you do so everything you say is wrong."

It reminds me of arguments with PhDs who sign their name ending with "comma pee aich dee". They make bold claims and when you ask for evidence or provide obvious counterexamples, they reply "You wouldn't be able to understand that because I have a PhD and you don't."

The thing is that there is absolutely no correlation in a given field between income and competance. Should I say that again? There is absolutely no correlation in a given field between income and competance.

Let's look at the field of medicine for example since it often comes up by way of comparison. Some doctors are in it for the money. They party hard in school, make the right connections, get a job at a pretstigious hospital and work their way up to administrator where they practice no medicine at all (perhaps a good thing) while drawing million dollar salaries and figuring out how they can refuse to treat poor people without getting too much bad publicity.

Other doctors enter with a desire to help people, study long and hard, think carefully about their life, and move to Haiti where they treat impoverished people in great need, live in modest surroundings and make less than $100/month while they save literally thousands of lives.

Which doctor is more successful? It depends on where your values are. is life about raking in the dough and finishing at the top of the heap? Or is it about following your own path and vision? Is it about creating something new and fulfilling? Is it about helping others to lead fulfilling lives? Or is it about shafting it to people as you try and see how much you can get while throwing your weight around like a hippopotamus?

Allow me to drop a clue on in on this party: