Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Alternative degrees

I have a question regarding the debate on whether or not you should get a CS degree. How about degrees in other subjects? Is it possible that studying other subjects could be as useful for programmers as CS? I don't have an opinion, I'm just asking. A degree in any difficult subject proves you aren't lazy.
My degree is in linguistics because I think an understanding of how language works in general is at least as relevant to computer programming as mathematics. And if you consider math as a kind of language, then linguistics can actually help you understand math in general, as well as any form of information processing.
For example, Larry Wall's degree is in natural and artificial languages, so he is a type of linguist.
I had various other reasons for studying linguistics rather than engineering or math and CS (I'm good at language, not so good at math, soI got a linguistics assistanceship and therefore free tuition and a stipend).
I now have been programming as a job for 8 years. So would my resume be thrown out because of lack of a CS degree?
Are there others here with alternative degrees, and do you think it qualifies you as much as a CS degree?
I have tried to make up for my lack of CS education by reading CS books. I think I know a lot about the history of computers, how they work, and basic CS concepts such as data structures and algorithms. Although I've read a lot of Teach Yourself and For Dummies books, I also have some theoretical background.
In other words, I agree that a CS degree gives you some advantages, but there might be other ways to prove you're a good programmer.

PC
Saturday, December 14, 2002