Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Does your work make you happy?

I'm a disenchanted graphic designer.
I've been in design for the last six years and I've been contemplating a career switch for some time.
(design, you see, is becoming less about design/communication and more about being a glorified software user)

I was wondering if a few of you would chime in and share your insights about the pros and cons of being a programmer.

What is it about writing code that keeps you coming in every morning (or evening)?

fisk
Wednesday, January 02, 2002

You're not asking the right questions here, I think.

What you are really trying to say there is "Why should I become a programmer?" and that isn't really what you ought to be asking. Or rather, maybe it is, but you don't ask us.

What we think is completely irrelevant (Well, not to us, but to you), since you are the one changing jobs. The only real advice I can see anyone here giving to you would be this: Try it. Just do some amateur stuff. There are a ton of open source projects you could get into. Or start you're own. A bit of persistance, a book, and a lot of time and you can learn it. And once you've done some real work, you'll know whether /you/ like it or not. That is, after all, the important thing.

Mike Swieton

Also, I suggest you visit [ http://slashdot.org ], if you haven't yet.  The level of misinformation in the comments is nothing short of astounding.  But it's still at the center of things, and interesting to boot.

Fain Hopkins

"(design, you see, is becoming less about design/communication and more about being a glorified software user)... What is it about writing code that keeps you coming in every morning (or evening)?"

The thrill of writing little programs that bounce balls across the screen does tend to fade over time. What keeps me coming in is... design and communication. That is what software development is about, although at times it gets so technical that it's hard to see.