Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

advanced degrees outside the U.S.

firstly, i want to point out that i'm not here to debate the merits of an advanced degree...

Assuming that one would find it beneficial to pursue an advanced degree in a field RELATED to computer science, does anyone have any observations/experiences on obtaining such degrees outside the US....

in my case, i'm young (23 years old) and i'd like to get involved in software with an international scope--basically, my ideal job would be as an engineer at a company where i'm designing and developing software and travelling accordingly, doing projects in different countries and so forth.  i'm a software engineer now in NYC, but i'm considering getting a master's in an engineering or mathematics discipline (such as statistics) in a year or two...  i'd really like to go to Berlin or Barcelona, but i'm just curious of a few things....

(1) would the advanced degree be taken seriously in the
US? 

(2) are there jobs in software that find people with international experience useful?  i'm good with languages, how can i apply this w/ software?  or am i pursuing a pipe dream?  is this just a stupid ambition....?

(3) any schools or programs that anyone would specifically recommend?  should i consider any countries over others? 

thanks a lot!

leavin' on a jet plane
Monday, December 09, 2002

Well I am currently doing an advanced degree in computer science the US.

My suggestion would be to get a degree in a country where you would like to work primarily. If you want to work in Spain most of the time, get a degree from Spain.

Sounds like you want to do some kind of consulting gig! There are not many reasons, that I can come up with for a software engineer (specially one with less than 5 years experience - I am guessing you have less than that) to travel the world on any company's account.