Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Fundemental Laws of Software Development Part 1

I have been working in the industry for several years. And over the years I have been exposed to the good and the bad in the industry as a software engineer. As doer, a listener, and an observer, these are some of the things about production I have learned. These are complementary and in some cases precursors to success in Joel's test. I throw these out for feedback:

FUNDEMENTAL LAWS OF SOFTWARE PRODUCTION

1. DEVELOP IN THE ENVIRONMENT THAT THE PRODUCT DELIVERS.
The developer should not develop in an environment that is not same as which the customer of the product uses. This blinds the developer to the problems that a customer will see, and thus, turning the customer into a tester. If the test environment is only environment that is the same as the customer, then testing finds the problems, but it cripples the developers' ability to debug and fix these problems, which should have been caught in development to begin with.
The consequences:
  Loss of product quality
  Loss of productivity
  Loss of customer confidence

2. MAINTAIN A SOFTWARE PROCESS WHICH INTERACTS WITH THE PRODUCT