Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Hiring

I would like to know what experiences others may have had with hiring programmers.
I have a web application business in addition to my job. The business is just a friend and myself -- he does graphic design and HTML and I do all the programming. We have quite a lot of work and sometimes it's just too much, since I also have a job.
I once tried hiring a guy who had done a little amateur programming but had no real experience. It did not turn out well because after 2 weeks he decided he had already surpassed me in knowledge and ability and was ready to make all the major decisions (it was an application I had been developing for about 2 years, and I had already been a web programmer for over 6 years).
After this experience I am reluctant to hire a programmer. If I hire someone without much experience I have to check and correct their work, which might take longer than doing it myself. An experienced person would charge more than we can afford to pay.

PC
Wednesday, December 04, 2002

Overseas?

(sorry, couldn't resist)

Leonardo Herrera

Hello! My name is Florin Serbanescu. I live in Romania. I have a lot of experience in Java and PHP. I have worked to software projects for romanian companies, but also for canadian ones, so I have experience in work remotely. If you want to know more details, if you have questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Florin Serbanescu

PC, how would your experience with that kid make you leery of hiring a professional? You get what you pay for. If you hired some kid with no experience to paint your house and they dorked it up, would that make you leery of hiring a professional painter? Probably not.

So are you just trolling or what? You're blatantly comparing an amateur with no experience to professionals. Do you think the programmers that frequent this board will respond well to that?

Troy King

This is my experience; your mileage may vary.