Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs

I just got _STRCTURE AND INTERPRETATION OF COMPUTER PROGRAMS_ by Abelson, Sussman & Sussman.  I've checked out it's reviews on amazon, and there seem to be strong opinions pro and con.

I've gotten through the first chapter.  The main reason I got this book is I wanted a more structured background on programming and the like that fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants experience I've gotten the past year getting immersed into web development hasn't given me.  Some background...I graduated with an undergraduate degree in biochemistry where the most programming I did was some atmospheric chemistry modelling with Basic.  I started getting into Perl after an interest in genetics and stuff and my roomate got me a job doing CGI programming in his lab.  Next thing I know, I'm doing web development in Perl, PHP, and the like (some ASP and now JSP to round it out).  I've just recently started making the transition to Java to work on some JSPs.

I really like Java since it's less messy than Perl and so much more powerful than PHP.  But now I'm starting to want to explore the more theoretical underpinnings behind programming (I did get a math minor, with a year of Matrix Algebra where 3/4 of the class were CIS guys-so I'm not totally ignorant of some the stuff in this book).  Lisp seems real popular in academics, and I don't have time to take any introductory CIS courses right now, so someone recommended this book based on the MIT course.

So what do you guys think?  Should I spend an hour or two every night after work slogging through this book-or is it better to just be a hack for now and go back to school for real later?

Best

-Razib

P.S. the think I hated doing wet chemistry-my experiments didn't give me back easy to read error messages :)

razib kahn
Friday, December 28, 2001