Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

How to start oversea project outsourcing?

I have been a consultant for 5 years with good tracking record and still employed in US. But with no sign of job market turnaround and probably more and more project outsourcing to foreign countries (simple reality of capitalism), I am seriously entertaining the idea of jump gun (proactive!) – to work as liaison/project management on outsourcing projects. Recently I have been corresponding with a consulting company that also wants to do oversea outsourcing (again, simple reality of capitalism). I want to equip myself with more knowledge when the discussion gets more serious.

Can anybody provide me some info on how to get started with oversea project outsourcing, or where I can find information? Any information (legal, tax, ...) would be helpful. I myself is Chinese citizen. Many thanks and good luck to you all.

Jack
Wednesday, November 27, 2002

I really hate this topic. With high unemployment in the US Tech area right now, why in hell should you do this?

The idea behind capitalism/business should not be greed (as it appers to be here) but creation of valid long term sustained economic growth. Small companies in the US support 90%+ of the economy that's feeding you!!! Small compaines that create jobs that create familes who buy cars that need homes, ad nauseum.

Too many people in my backyard (and that poor guy in Jacksonville with 1 pack of balogna, I feel for ya, and hang in there) are hurting for jobs right here. Like their skills aren't good enough - you're just too greedy to help them out. Sure your profit margin will be lower, but that's what's so screwed up now.

Be a human above all else, and possess compassion for those around you. Then get yourself a lawyer who specializes in international contracts and bring that work back into the US!

My 0.02

-j