Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Develop apps when jobhunting?

I'm graduating college soon, but with the current job climate I'm not sure I'll get a decent job immediately. To do something useful until I find a job, I'm thinking of developing a medium-sized app (small enough for one person to work on).

When applying for a job, can I use an application that I've developed as a reference? Would anyone bother to look at it? Should I send it to prospective employers on a CD or should I send a webpage address in an email? I'm a pretty decent developer, but I lack experience. Can I make up for some of that by showing employers that I'm actually capable of developing something that works?

If this is a good idea, do you have any suggestions for a suitable application to develop or what characteristics such an application should have?

Thanks

Karl
Tuesday, November 26, 2002

I think it's a great idea.  Do you have a particular area you would like to work?  Web design?  Driver development?  Obviously your answer to this question has a big impact on what sort of program you should undertake.  Nothing in particular?  Choose something general purpose.  Write a web based bug tracker program or a standalone news reader, etc...  Not quite up for something that big?  Read the newsgroups and see if people are having recurring problems with something.  Write a class to fix it.

good karma for the day, I hope

Nah forget it.  Just use that time interviewing and researching potential employers.  Employers aren't too interested in your past work when you are straight out of college.  Sure it's nice, but its not required.

Kevin

I think its a good idea. It will keep your skills sharp and show you can apply your knowledge in a real way.

Ian Stallings

Develop something in a technology that is marketable, but in which you have little knowledge, then you can go to your interviews with something more to sell than you currently have.

Alberto