Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Follow up procedures

Just looking for some advice,I called up the Director of a small software company, regarding job opportunities,after ringing him a few times,I got a call back from him.He asked me for my references from the school I graduated and from work,so I provided him with my references, through e-mail and also sent him a copy of a written reference from my former employer.This was around 10-15 days back.Should I wait some more time for him to reply,or should I contact him again?

sroy
Monday, November 25, 2002

Everyone will have a different opinion here, but I would wait until the Wednesday after the Thanksgiving holiday (assuming you are from the states) and follow up then.  That would be a three-week interval, he could hardly accuse you of being over-persistent.

I wouldn't call immediately after a four-day weekend, and I wouldn't wait until the mid-December craziness is upon him either. 

He asked you for your info, so it is perfectly acceptable to follow up and see if there is anything else you can provide for him.

Good luck.

Ran

Give him a call NOW. Make him know you want to work for him. If you wait three weeks he will have forgotten you.

Tony E

Would a note or an email, something thats not so in your face as a phone call, and therefore less likely to get a "knee jerk" reaction just to get you off the phone so they can go to that urgent meeting, be appropriate?

I think its fair to show that you are interested. You should also show that you respect their time, by not pushing too hard, and that you respect your own time, by doing enough pushing to let them know you would like an answer.

Robert Moir

Robert's riight.  E-mail, don't phone. We had a guy applying to my college who was almost certain for a job, but he kept on ringing the Department Chairman on his mobile phone at the wrong times, and now he just can't get through.

Stephen Jones